European College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists

The European Board of Veterinary Specialisation (EBVS)
The European Board of Veterinary Specialisation (EBVS) is the umbrella organization for veterinary specialties within Europe that is is registered with the Chamber of Commerce (Kamer Van Koophandel) in Utrecht, the Netherlands. EBVS is composed of one voting representative from each of the EBVS-recognized veterinary specialist Colleges. 

EBVS includes 26 veterinary specialist Colleges, comprising more than 35 distinct specialties with more than 3300 veterinarians active as a European Veterinary Specialist™. ( European Veterinary Specialist )


European veterinary specialists are ready to serve the public, its animals, and the veterinary profession by providing high quality service in disciplines as varied as anaesthesia and analgesia, clinical pathology, companion animal or equine internal medicine, surgery, ophthalmology, pathology, pharmacology and toxicology, public health, and zoological medicine.


The main role of the EBVS is to:

  • Define guidelines for the recognition and registration of specialists in areas of veterinary medicine in Europe.
  • Recognise and monitor veterinary speciality Colleges in Europe
  • Award the title of 'European Veterinary Specialist in (name of specialty)' for 5 years to veterinary specialists who meet their veterinary specialist College’s criteria, including re-evaluation every 5 years
  • Set up and maintain a register of European Veterinary Specialists
  • Assure the quality of these specialists by monitoring all of its Colleges.
  • Provide information on specialisation in veterinary medicine in Europe to authorities, private organisations, veterinarians and owners of animals.
  • Encourage and promote the enhanced utilisation and availability of speciality services to the public and the veterinary profession


EBVS Policies & Procedures can be viewed under 'About Us' on the EBVS website.

Access to Vetstream's Vetlexicon